slideshow 6 slideshow 6 slideshow 6 slideshow 6 slideshow 2 slideshow 9

ECE On-Campus Bachelor Programs Application banner

ECE Online MS banner

ECE On-Campus Graduate Programs Application banner

During the upcoming 2018 Technical Interchange Meeting in Tucson, ECE professor Kelly Simmons-Potter will officially begin a three-year term as vice chair of the Hardened Electronics and Radiation Technology, or HEART, society steering committee.

Simmons-Potter currently serves as HEART society publication chair and executive editor of the Journal of Radiation Effects Research and Engineering -- that term finishes at the end of 2018 -- and has a joint appointment with the Department of Optical Sciences.

The HEART society has honored Simmons-Potter before, awarding Outstanding Paper of the Year awards in 2005 and 2012 for her work in radiation-hardened optical materials.

Jerzy Rozenblit talking in front of a TEDx logo.A laparoscopic surgery computer simulation device that helps overcome camera depth-perception issues has earned Jerzy Rozenblit this distinction from the technical society.

The Society for Modeling and Simulation International, or SCS, has made Jerzy Rozenblit, University Distinguished Professor and former head of the Electrical and Computer Engineering department, a fellow of the society for his work in the medical field.

Rozenblit’s honor was awarded not only for his body of work in modeling and simulation over the years, but also on the heels of his recent work on a simulation device for computer-aided training for surgeons conducting laparoscopic surgery.

"It is certainly very nice to have the recognition of colleagues and coworkers,” said Rozenblit. "It’s reaffirmation that what you’re doing makes sense.”

Rozenblit, who holds the Raymond J. Oglethorpe Endowed Chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering, was elevated from member to fellow upon nomination in 2017. The SCS awards the distinction to only one percent of its members, for accomplishments in and contributions to the advancement or application of modeling and simulation.

The computer simulation device allows surgeons to gain, in a virtual environment, the extensive training required for robotic laparoscopic surgery. The system reduces the risks to patient safety and gives unlimited training to surgeons-to-be.

Surgeons performing laparoscopic surgery use a small... Read Complete Article

Nine college students worked on programming the University of Arizona's Cognitive and Autonomous Test driverless vehicle Aug. 8 as part of the National Science Foundation's Research Experiences for Undergraduates program.

Larry Head, UA professor of systems and industrial engineering and an expert in connected and automated driving vehicle systems, headed up the REU program this year, alongside Tamal Bose, professor and head of the UA Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Alongside UA students, participants from institutions such as Seattle University, Monmouth College, Lipscomb University and Western Colorado State University worked with the CAT driverless vehicle. The objective was to see if the students could program a basic sensor to gather enough data to allow the car to travel, but not too much for a computer to process quickly.

Associate professor Roman Lysecky, an expert in embedded electronic systems, is working hard to prevent hacks of implantable medical devices like pacemakers and insulin pumps. His team's technique uses runtime anomaly detection to catch 100 percent of mimicked malware attacks.

As Bob Karson noted in a recent episode of the NSF's Discovery Files podcast, these threats are, thankfully, still theoretical -- but ECE researchers are staying a heartbeat ahead of the hackers.

University of Arizona College of Engineering